Thoughts Before the Paralympics

I am so excited for the London Paralympics starting today. I`m looking forward to another wave of the olympic spirit after the amazing Olympics a few weeks ago and the continuation of the “party” that has been going on in London according to the news. I wish I had a chance to go. Yesterday I came across these two quotes that I had to share:

“Thanks for the warm up. Here we come!” -Robin Barnett

“You’re not disabled by the disabilities you have, you are able by the abilities you have.” -Oscar Pistorius

Personally I can not wait for the opening ceremony tonight and my favorite events will probably include the athletics but just as I was browsing the London 2012 website I discovered sports I didn`t even know were part of the Paralympics (I hope this is not ridiculous, but as an excuse there were also Olympic sports that I had not thought about before) and now I am even more excited to see them.

At age 18 I do remember the Games four years ago clearly but even before that, not being into sports in general I can still recall all the excitement during these incredible events. It really is a spirit that goes around the world. My earliest memory is probably the opening ceremony of the 2000 Sydney Summer Olympics though I was not allowed to watch it to the end because I was still to young. But my family always gathered together and spent hours watching sports. Such happy times!

What are you looking forward to most? Your earliest memory of the Olympics is…?

6 thoughts on “Thoughts Before the Paralympics

Leave a Reply

