Banana Berry Smoothie

Today I made my first homemade smoothie! It was absolutely delicious, great as a snack or small meal, easy to pack, healthy and absolutely customisable depending on your taste.

What you need for one big glass:

  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup of frozen blackberries
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/2 cup of oat bran
  • 1 cup of milk
  • Sweeten with honey or agave syrup if you want (I left it like this)

Blend everything until it`s thin enough for you. Enjoy in a fun glass and add a colourful straw (thicker ones work better because of the berry seeds).

You can of course use yogurt, different berries, greens (spinach, for example), and much more. This is just a very easy starter.

I had this smoothie after my 8.25 mile long run today, because it was not lunch time yet. Definitely something I will repeat. Besides the run itself being very uneventful, I discovered something awesome: a free track! I have been looking for a track for so long now and all the close ones I went to before were privately owned ones or had crazy registration fees. The one I found today is right in between my two usual running spots.

In Hungary we have the island, with a track of 5.35 km which is very soft in some areas and has holes in others. The view is nice but after a while it is quite boring and besides it can be crowded and there are barely any measurements for speed-workouts.  The other spot I frequent is a hill with many trails of different levels – easy flat ones, harder steep ones. Both of these locations are 20-30 minutes from my house by car and require a detour on my daily way to uni. I do however think it is worth to go there.

So the new track is literally in the middle of these two spots. Today I only ran one quick round – imagine it like a happy dance over 400 meters! I`m planning to do my next speed session which is scheduled for the middle of next week there and will report back to you. I will also make sure to take some proper pictures because not only is the track in awesome condition but it is on a plateau overlooking the houses around! I`m so excited to go back!

Do you have any great smoothie recipes for me to try out?

7 thoughts on “Banana Berry Smoothie

  1. Pingback: My Week and a Free Running Book | with anna

Leave a Reply

