Juneathon Day 16: Records

#PlankADay: 3.00

100 Push Up Challenge: 8, 10, 7, 7, 15

•••

Today is an awesome day for my non-running challenges. I wanted to go above 2.00 minutes again for the plank and turned on some youtube video on my subscriptions on my phone. I was completely focused even though my form was definitely not awesome. Videos really work for me because they are enough of a distraction. So I clicked on the screen of my phone to check an approximate time when I saw the clip had been going for more than 2.30!

At that point I was not feeling completely exhausted and really wanted to reach the three minute mark. And then it happened!! I was so happy when I collapsed on the floor. My big goal now since I broke my last one is obviously the four minute mark but it will take a while until I get there, I think.

Yesterday should have been the day to do my 100 push up challenge workout but I didn`t feel like I was ready after the spinning class so I postponed the workout by a day. It`s completely fine since you only have to do three workouts a week with at least one day of rest in between each. You gradually build up repetitions in five sets. Set two will have the largest number of set push ups and set five will expect you to do at least a certain amount while this number is even bigger than that of set two. Now this was completely confusing so I`ll just tell you what the plan said:

  • 1 set of 8 push ups
  • 1 set of 10 push ups
  • 1 set of 7 push ups
  • 1 set of 7 push ups
  • 1 set of at least 10 push ups – here I did an awesome number of 15!!

And now my first thoughts after one week of doing this:

  • I feel like I am already getting a little better
  • My shoulders and neck are a little sore for the rest of the day
  • I can not touch my nose to the ground but I do definitely go a lot (!) deeper than I did just on Monday!

So, let`s see what I say in a week and how I can go on with the plan.

Anyone else want to jump on the bandwagon and join me in this challenge? Let me know, I`d love to support anyone trying it!

2 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 16: Records

Leave a Reply

