Lessons Learned: Shopping and Reality

Last week I went strolling through what was left over of the sales (what used to be a danger zone but what I can handle well now) when I saw an outfit from the new Zara collections put together smartly. In theory it contained basics: a polka dotted blouse with a v-neck, light blue skinny jeans (which I think were cropped to ankle length), a brown satin blazer and beige boots with a rather short heel. I knew I did not want to try it on, because I did not want to buy it, so I passed on at went home. Later that day I could not get the outfit out of my head. It reminded me of sets that I have had in my head for a while (most of which I could create if I shopped my own closet). Image

The next day I went back to Zara. I drove all the way down to the mall at which I saw the outfit, picked up some pieces and headed right to the dressing room. I took my time. Put on the blouse and jacket carefully, to really see if I liked it. Then I put on the shoes with my own jeans (another lesson I have learned: Zara denim usually stretches too much – so pass!). I looked at the mirror but I was not quite satisfied. The blouse was pretty, but too flowy, I have had a simple blouse with a v-neck on my wishlist for quite a while, but this just did not do anything for my pear shaped figure. The blazer? It was fine, I liked it, but it was definitely not a must-have. And finally the ankle boots? Yes, I liked them, I did not think they were perfect, but I liked them.

My original inspiration for a v-neck blouse: Lauren Conrads look in her book Style.

I ended up passing on everything. But I learned a few lessons:

  1. When something strikes you: why not give it a try! Only this way you can find out about your opinion in the end.
  2. Remember what you need or wanted for a longer time, to avoid impulse buys.
  3. Be honest: the outfit seemed perfect. Maybe it looked great in the spot (on models!, tailored, photoshopped…), maybe you were just craving “something new”? But never lie to yourself in the dressing room.
  4. Invest some time and consider yourself, get to know your body shape and do your research. What really suits you? What do you like?
  5. Take your time and think it over whenever you are unsure.
  6. Consider Quality over Quantity. Basics over trends. Needs or long-time wish list items over wishes.

This will not keep you from ever buying items on impulse. It is also not a key to a capsule wardrobe. But I think it is an important lesson and step to take. What do you think about these lessons? What are lessons you have learned?

Posted in All

3 thoughts on “Lessons Learned: Shopping and Reality

  1. Pingback: Snapshots from my life « with anna

Leave a Reply

